Reflections From the Treadmill #3

By Karen Pullano

To read from the beginning click HERE

CrossTreadmill

Be Not Afraid

Yea, though I walk through the valley of the shadow of death, I shall fear no evil….

After the first week of running I realized my body was seriously rebelling. Everything hurt and things were swollen. I have been stretching, and icing, and stretching some more, of course, but that only does so much good. I noticed I was approaching that treadmill with something akin to fear. I knew it was going to feel like the longest 30 minutes of my life and my heart would start pounding with dread before I even took a step. I tried not to think about it and obediently jumped on with determination to meet my goal.

In contemplating the cross on the wall before me, I thought of Jesus in the garden and how much fear and dread must have filled Him at the prospect of temporal and bodily torture. It was a solid act of His will to choose obedience in suffering for the greater good. Jesus went willingly to His torture. You might wonder, as I did, how in the world He was able to go willingly. He was living in a fully human capacity and had all the supernatural help that you and I would have, yet he chose obedience to His Father’s will. I can’t pretend to know the depths of what Jesus experienced in the garden, of course, but the psalmist gives the simple answer as to how I have been able to obediently accept my own crosses. “…I shall fear no evil, for you are with me.”
Jesus knew that in a very deep and real way. This is why we are counseled throughout the scriptures to Be Not Afraid. God is with us and goes before us in every suffering. Let Him be your shepherd. Let His rod and His staff be your comfort.

Even though I walk through the valley of the shadow of death, I fear no evil, for You are with me; Your rod and Your staff, they comfort me. You prepare a table before me in the presence of my enemies; You have anointed my head with oil; My cup overflows. Surely goodness and loving kindness will follow me all the days of my life, And I will dwell in the house of the LORD forever. (Ps 23:4-6)

Be sure to follow this blog via email to receive the latest posts to your inbox and like the John Paul II Center for women Facebook page here!  For the next post in the series, click HERE.

Ladies!  Don’t miss the next Food and Faith event this Tuesday!  Cost is free.  You can RSVP here.  Hope to see you there!

ALSO join us if you can on Saturday March 14th for wine and chocolate tasting to support the Elizabeth Ministry.  Click HERE to rsvp or call Rita (315) 673-9458WINE

One thought on “Reflections From the Treadmill #3

  1. Pingback: Reflections from the Treadmill #2 | Conversations with Sophia

Leave a Reply

